Library of Congress

National Book Festival

Craig Johnson has received both critical and popular praise for his novels The Cold Dish, Death Without Company, Kindness Goes Unpunished, Another Man's Moccasins and The Dark Horse. All five novels have been made selections by the Independent Booksellers Association. The Cold Dish was a DILYS Award finalist and was named one of the top 10 mysteries of the year by Lire magazine. Death Without Company was selected by Booklist as one of the top 10 mysteries of 2006 and won the Wyoming Historical Society's fiction book of the year award. The story "Old Indian Trick" won the Tony Hillerman Mystery Short Story Award and appeared in Cowboys & Indians Magazine. Kindness Goes Unpunished, the third in the Walt Longmire series, was No. 38 on the American Booksellers Association's hardcover best-seller list. Another Man's Moccasins (2008) was the recipient of the Western Writers of America's Spur Award as Novel of the Year and the Mountains and Plains Book of the Year. The Dark Horse (2009), the fifth in the series, has garnered starred reviews by all four pre-publication review services. Johnson lives in Wyoming.

Previous National Book Festival Appearances

Craig Johnson

Photo by Erin Nickerson