Library of Congress

National Book Festival

Among the pantheon of great writers is E.L. Doctorow, who is this year’s recipient of the Library of Congress Prize for American Fiction. Doctorow is the author of acclaimed novels such as “Ragtime, “Billy Bathgate,” “The Book of Daniel” and “City of God.” Among his many honors are the National Book Award (“World’s Fair”), three National Book Critics Circle Awards (“Ragtime,” “Billy Bathgate” and “The March”), the PEN/Saul Bellow Award for Achievement in American Fiction and the National Humanities Medal. Doctorow’s novels are notable for their chronicling of myth and their intersection with history. His newest novel is “Andrew’s Brain” (Random House), which USA Today said was “too compelling to put down.”

Previous National Book Festival Appearances

E.L. Doctorow

Photo by Gasper Tringale