Library of Congress

National Book Festival

For her dedication to children and young-adult literature, Jacqueline Woodson received the Margaret A. Edwards Award for Lifetime Achievement in 2006. Woodson is known for exploring important themes in her works, including issues of gender, class, race, family and history. Her picture books, middle-grade and young-adult novels take the reader on an emotional journey by portraying characters in relatable, realistic situations. Woodson has written more than 20 books; some of the most notable include Newbery Honor Medal winners “Show Way,” “Feathers,” and “After Tupac and D Foster,” and the Coretta Scott King Award-winning “Miracle’s Boys.” Her recent book “Brown Girl Dreaming” received a Newberry Honor and won the 2014 National Book Award for young people’s literature. Her latest novel for adults, “Another Brooklyn” (Amistad), follows August and her friends as childhood transitions to adulthood.

Previous National Book Festival Appearances

Jacqueline Woodson

Photo by Juna F. Nagle