Library of Congress

National Book Festival

Jane Hirshfield is the author of six collections of poetry, including "After" (which was chosen as one of the best books of 2006 by The Washington Post, the San Francisco Chronicle and the London Financial Times). Hirshfield's other honors include the Poetry Center Book Award and fellowships from the Guggenheim and Rockefeller foundations, the National Endowment for the Arts and the Academy of American Poets. Her work has appeared in The Nation, The New Yorker, The Atlantic and "The (London) Times Literary Supplement." She has been featured many times on Garrison Keillor's "Writers Almanac" radio program. In 2004 Jane Hirshfield was awarded the 70th Academy Fellowship for distinguished poetic achievement by the Academy of American Poets, an honor formerly held by such poets as Robert Frost, Ezra Pound, William Carlos Williams and Elizabeth Bishop.

Previous National Book Festival Appearances

Jane Hirshfield

Photo by Nick Rosza