Library of Congress

National Book Festival

Justin Cronin’s new novel, “The City of Mirrors” (Ballantine), is the epic conclusion of his much-praised Passage Trilogy, which has been optioned for movies. The first book in the series, “The Passage,” was a phenomenal best-seller which sold in over 40 countries and was featured on more than a dozen “Best of the Year” lists in 2010. Its sequel, “The Twelve” was released in 2012. Cronin’s apocalyptic saga features vampire-like creatures called “virals” and the survivors who are trying to cope with them. His other works include “A Short History of the Long Ball,” “Mary and O’Neil” and “The Summer Guest.” He has received the PEN/Hemingway Award, the Stephen Crane Prize, a Whiting Writer’s Award and a fellowship from the National Endowment for the Arts. A distinguished faculty fellow at Rice University, Cronin divides his time between Texas, and Massachusetts.

Previous National Book Festival Appearances

Justin Cronin

Photo by Julie Soefer