Library of Congress

National Book Festival

Margaret Coel is the New York Times best-selling author of the acclaimed Wind River mystery series, set among the Arapahos on Wyoming's Wind River Reservation and featuring Jesuit priest John O'Malley and Arapaho attorney Vicky Holden. The latest is "The Silent Spirit" (2009). The novels have received wide recognition, including the Colorado Book Award and the Willa Cather Award for Best Novel of the West. Coel's articles on the West have appeared in The New York Times, The Christian Science Monitor, American Heritage of Invention & Technology, Creativity! and many other publications. She lives in Colorado, where, she says, "I drink in the West."

Previous National Book Festival Appearances

Related Links

Margaret Coel