Library of Congress

National Book Festival

Susan Cooper is the author of the classic five-book series “The Dark Is Rising,” which won a Newbery Medal, a Newbery Honor Award and two Carnegie Honor Awards. Cooper has also received the Margaret A. Edwards Award from the American Library Association for a “significant and lasting contribution to young adult literature.” Born in England, Cooper was a reporter and feature writer for the London Sunday Times before coming to live in the United States. Her writing includes books for children and adults, a Broadway play, films and Emmy-nominated screenplays. “Ghost Hawk” (Margaret K. McElderry/Simon & Schuster) is her latest novel.

Previous National Book Festival Appearances

Susan Cooper

Photo by Jeffrey Hornstein