Library of Congress

National Book Festival

Full Author List


The 16th Library of Congress National Book Festival once again will bring the nation's best authors, poets and illustrators to Washington to discuss their work and meet their fans. The lineup of currently confirmed authors is listed below. A larger list of authors with complete biographies is coming soon.

  • Kwame Alexander
  • Douglas Brinkley
  • Christopher Buckley
  • Newt Gingrich
  • Philip Glass
  • Annette Gordon-Reed
  • Winston Groom
  • Stephen King
  • James McBride
  • Jon Meacham
  • Joyce Carol Oates
  • Ed Piskor
  • Michael Ramirez
  • Diane Rehm
  • Salman Rushdie
  • Stacy Schiff
  • Bob Woodward
  • Luis Alberto Urrea
  • Gene Luen Yang

Pavilion assignments have not been finalized for the 2016 Library of Congress National Book Festival, but will include the following:

  • Children
  • Teens
  • Picture Books
  • Biography & Memoir
  • Contemporary Life
  • Culinary Arts
  • Fiction
  • Graphic Novels
  • History
  • Mystery & Science Fiction
  • Poetry & Prose
  • Romance Fiction
  • Science
  • Special Programs

Please check back often or sign up for one of our updaters:
> Subscribe to our RSS news feed
> Subscribe to our email alert system
> Follow the Library on Twitter

You can see in which pavilion authors gave their presentations in all previous Festivals by using the drop-down menu, above.