Concerts from the Library of Congress, 2013-2014


Freiburger Barockorchester

This concert is supported in part by the Wanda Landowska Fund in the Library of Congress.

Coolidge Auditorium

“The Freiburg Baroque Orchestra is a diamond of particular brilliance… open your ears, this is how music sounds! ” –Salzburger Nachrichten

The Freiburg Baroque Orchestra, one of the world’s premiere period ensembles, will be performing all six of Johann Sebastian Bach’s Brandenburg Concerti in a single evening. These works, which constitute a cornerstone of the Baroque repertoire, display Bach’s
mastery of the orchestra. Bach originally described them as Concerts avec plusieurs instruments; three of the six works are firmly in the concerto grosso tradition, but all possess unique features that have rendered them timeless.

“ unmitigated joy“ –Gramophone


Brandenburg Concerto no. 1 in F major, BWV 1046
Brandenburg Concerto no. 2 in F major, BWV 1047
Brandenburg Concerto no. 3 in G major, BWV 1048
Brandenburg Concerto no. 4 in G major, BWV 1049
Brandenburg Concerto no. 5 in D major, BWV 1050
Brandenburg Concerto no. 6 in B-flat major, BWV 1051

This performance is SOLD OUT. However, a limited number of RUSH tickets is available, at no cost, 2 hours before each performance. Patrons are strongly encouraged to try for a RUSH ticket at the door. Due to no-shows and returned tickets, some seats are ALWAYS available for sold out performances at curtain. RUSH tickets are offered on a space-available basis. Seats are not guaranteed.

6:30 PM - Whittall Pavilion (no tickets required)

Conversation with the artists