The Library of Congress > National Jukebox > Browse all Recordings > Mon coeur s'ouvre à ta voix

WARNING: These historical recordings may contain offensive or inappropriate language. Full disclaimer

This content requires a web browser with Javascript enabled and Adobe Flash Player 10+external link

  • Recording Title

    Mon coeur s'ouvre à ta voix

  • Other Title(s)

    • My heart at thy sweet voice (Parallel (translated) title)
    • Samson et Dalila. Mon coeur s'ouvre à ta voix (Uniform title)
    • Samson et Dalila (Work title)
  • Composer

    Camille Saint-Saëns

  • Cello

    Rosario Bourdon

  • Contralto

    Louise Homer

  • Genre(s)


  • Category


  • Description

    Contralto vocal solo, with cello and orchestra

  • Language


  • Label Name/Number

    Victor 6164

  • Matrix Number/Take Number


  • Recording Date


  • Place of Recording

    Camden, New Jersey

  • Size


  • Duration


  • Notes

    EDVR vol. II notes: This is one of the extremely rare cases discovered in which the electrical remake of an acoustical recording starts the numbering of the takes over again with 1, in this case probably because the electrical takes were originally assig

    Also recorded as C-621.

  • Related Takes

  • Rights & Access

    This recording is protected by state copyright laws in the United States. The Library of Congress has obtained a license from rights holders to offer it as streamed audio only. Downloading is not permitted. The authorization of rights holders of the recording is required in order to obtain a copy of the recording. Contact [email protected] for more information.


    Source of original recording: Recorded Sound Section, Library of Congress. Inclusion of the recording in the National Jukebox, courtesy of Sony Music Entertainment.


The National Jukebox is a project of the Library of Congress Packard Campus for Audio Visual Conservation. The goal of the Jukebox is to present to the widest audience possible early commercial sound recordings, offering a broad range of historical and cultural documents as a contribution to education and lifelong learning.

These selections are presented as part of the record of the past. They are historical documents which reflect the attitudes, perspectives, and beliefs of different times. The Library of Congress does not endorse the views expressed in these recordings, which may contain content offensive to users.

About National Jukebox

The Library of Congress presents the National Jukebox, which makes historical sound recordings available to the public free of charge. The Jukebox includes recordings from the extraordinary collections of the Library of Congress Packard Campus for Audio Visual Conservation and other contributing libraries and archives.

Find out more

First Time Here?

Find out about playlisting, what “matrix” means, and other ways to get the most from the National Jukebox.