The Library of Congress > National Jukebox > Browse all Recordings > Monarch Minstrel, first part, no. 2

WARNING: These historical recordings may contain offensive or inappropriate language. Full disclaimer

This content requires a web browser with Javascript enabled and Adobe Flash Player 10+external link

  • Recording Title

    Monarch Minstrel, first part, no. 2

  • Other Title(s)

    • Carry me back to old Virginny (Additional title)
  • Vocal group

    Georgia Minstrels

  • Genre(s)

    Ethnic characterizations, Comedies, Popular music

  • Category


  • Description

    Minstrels, with band

  • Language


  • Label Name/Number

    Victor 3036

  • Matrix Number/Take Number

    [Pre-matrix B-]3036/2

  • Recording Date


  • Place of Recording

    Camden, New Jersey [unconfirmed]

  • Size


  • Duration


  • Notes

    Announced by W.F. Hooley and sung by the group. Selections include 'Carry me back to old Virginny' and a solo by S.H. Dudley of 'My old Kentucky home.'

  • Related Takes

  • Rights & Access

    This recording is protected by state copyright laws in the United States. The Library of Congress has obtained a license from rights holders to offer it as streamed audio only. Downloading is not permitted. The authorization of rights holders of the recording is required in order to obtain a copy of the recording. Contact for more information.


    Source of original recording: Giovannoni/Lynch Collection (private collection). Inclusion of the recording in the National Jukebox, courtesy of Sony Music Entertainment.


The National Jukebox is a project of the Library of Congress Packard Campus for Audio Visual Conservation. The goal of the Jukebox is to present to the widest audience possible early commercial sound recordings, offering a broad range of historical and cultural documents as a contribution to education and lifelong learning.

These selections are presented as part of the record of the past. They are historical documents which reflect the attitudes, perspectives, and beliefs of different times. The Library of Congress does not endorse the views expressed in these recordings, which may contain content offensive to users.

About National Jukebox

The Library of Congress presents the National Jukebox, which makes historical sound recordings available to the public free of charge. The Jukebox includes recordings from the extraordinary collections of the Library of Congress Packard Campus for Audio Visual Conservation and other contributing libraries and archives.

Find out more

First Time Here?

Find out about playlisting, what “matrix” means, and other ways to get the most from the National Jukebox.