The Library of Congress > National Jukebox > Browse all Recordings > Studentenlieder

WARNING: These historical recordings may contain offensive or inappropriate language. Full disclaimer

This content requires a web browser with Javascript enabled and Adobe Flash Player 10+external link

  • Recording Title


  • Other Title(s)

    • Brüder, lagert euch im Kreise ; Mein Gläschen ; Ca, Ca, geschmauset ; Ein lust'ger Musikante ; Was kommt dort von de Höh (Medley contents)
    • Potpourri no. 1 (Part name)
  • Vocal group

    Manhattan Quartet

  • Arranger

    Gustave T. Heil

  • Conductor

    Nathaniel Shilkret

  • Baritone vocal

    Nick Latterner

  • Bass vocal

    Frank Schwarzkopf

  • Tenor vocal

    Arthur Hall , Henry Weimann

  • Genre(s)

    Ethnic music

  • Marketing Genre(s)


  • Category


  • Description

    Male vocal quartet, with band

  • Language


  • Instrumentation

    Flute, 2 clarinets, 3 alto horns, 3 cornets, trombone, tuba, and traps

  • Label Name/Number

    Victor 73937

  • Matrix Number/Take Number


  • Recording Date


  • Place of Recording

    New York, New York

  • Size


  • Duration


  • Notes

    Victor ledgers: "With small band."

  • Rights & Access

    This recording is protected by state copyright laws in the United States. The Library of Congress has obtained a license from rights holders to offer it as streamed audio only. Downloading is not permitted. The authorization of rights holders of the recording is required in order to obtain a copy of the recording. Contact [email protected] for more information.


    Source of original recording: Department of Special Collections, Davidson Library, University of California, Santa Barbara. Inclusion of the recording in the National Jukebox, courtesy of Sony Music Entertainment.


The National Jukebox is a project of the Library of Congress Packard Campus for Audio Visual Conservation. The goal of the Jukebox is to present to the widest audience possible early commercial sound recordings, offering a broad range of historical and cultural documents as a contribution to education and lifelong learning.

These selections are presented as part of the record of the past. They are historical documents which reflect the attitudes, perspectives, and beliefs of different times. The Library of Congress does not endorse the views expressed in these recordings, which may contain content offensive to users.

About National Jukebox

The Library of Congress presents the National Jukebox, which makes historical sound recordings available to the public free of charge. The Jukebox includes recordings from the extraordinary collections of the Library of Congress Packard Campus for Audio Visual Conservation and other contributing libraries and archives.

Find out more

First Time Here?

Find out about playlisting, what “matrix” means, and other ways to get the most from the National Jukebox.