Library of Congress

Law Library of Congress

The Library of Congress > Law Library > News & Events > Global Legal Monitor

Indonesia: New Province, Autonomous Regions Planned

(Oct. 24, 2012) Indonesia’s Dewan Perwakilan Rakyat (House of Representatives) has agreed to a plan to form a new province, North Kalimantan. The new province will bring to 34 the total number of provinces in the country. North Kalimantan will comprise Tarakan, Nunukan, Malinau, Bulungan, and Tanah Tidung, five districts that are currently part of the province of East Kalimantan. (House Agrees on Creation of Indonesia’s 34th Province; “North Kalimantan,” THE JAKARTA GLOBE (Oct. 22, 2012).)

The new province is located on the island of Borneo, adjacent to the Malaysian states of Sabah and Sarawak. It will become fully functional as a separate province in three years. The rationale for the creation of the additional province was that it would facilitate the development of the region. (House Approves Five New Autonomous Regions, THE JAKARTA POST (Aug. 22, 2012).)

The legislature also approved the creation of four sub-provincial administrative units, the districts of Pangandaran, in West Java; South Coast, in Lampung; and Arfak Mountains and South Manokwari, both in West Papua. This is the first time new districts have been created in Indonesia since 2009. New districts in four other provinces were considered but rejected. (House Agrees on Creation of Indonesia’s 34th Province; “North Kalimantan,” supra.)