NLS Kids Zone

Childrens Award Books

Newbery Medal
The John Newbery Medal, awarded annually for the most distinguished contribution to literature for children, takes its name from the eighteenth-century British bookseller who first conceived of publishing books for children. First presented in 1922 to Hendrick Willem Van Loon for The Story of Mankind, the medal is awarded each year to an author whose work was published during the preceding year and who is a United States citizen. To the Newbery Award list
Corretta Scott King Award and John Steptoe Award for New Talent
Presented annually by the Coretta Scott King Committee of the American Library Association's Ethnic Multicultural Information Exchange Round Table (EMIERT), the award's purpose is to encourage the artistic expression of the African American experience via literature and the graphic arts, including biographical, historical and social history treatments by African American authors and illustrators. It is given to an African American author and an African American illustrator for an outstandingly inspirational and educational contribution. To the King and Steptoe Award List
Schneider Family Award
The Schneider Family Book Awards honor an author or illustrator for a book that embodies an artistic expression of the disability experience for child and adolescent audiences. Three annual awards each consisting of $5000 and a framed plaque, are given annually in each of the following categories: birth through grade school (age 0–10), middle school (age 11–13) and teens (age 13–18). To the Schneider Family Awards list