Skip Navigation Links  The Library of Congress >> Researchers
Main Reading Room (Researcher and Reference Services Division)
  Home >> Guides >> State Poets >> Alabama


Current Laureate:
Jennifer Horne

Start of Term:
November 1, 2017

Position History:
Position established by the Legislature in 1931 (Act No. 92). For more information, see the Alabama Department of Archives and History.

Previous Laureates:
Samuel Minturn Peck (June 12, 1930-1938)
Mary B. Ward (1954-1958)
Elbert Calvin Henderson (1959-1974)
William Young Elliott (1975-1982)
Carl Patrick Morton (1983-1987)
Morton Dennison Prouty, Jr. (1988-1991)
Ralph Hammond (1992-1995)
Helen Friedman Blackshear (1995-1999)
Helen Norris (1999-2003)
Sue Walker (August 2003-December 2012)
Andrew Glaze (January 2013-February 7, 2016)

Further Resources:

Next State >>>

End of List >>>

Top of Page Top of Page
  Home >> Guides >> State Poets >> Alabama
  The Library of Congress >> Researchers
  February 23, 2018
Legal | External Link Disclaimer

Contact Us:
Ask a Librarian