Skip Navigation Links  The Library of Congress >> Researchers
Main Reading Room (Humanities and Social Sciences Division)
  Home >> Guides >> State Poets >> Arizona


Current Laureate:
Alberto Ríos

Start of Term:
January 20, 2014

Position History:
SB1348, which established the position of Arizona State Poet Laureate, was signed into law by Governor Brewer on May 11, 2012. State poets laureate will serve a two year term, beginning and ending on the third Monday in January of the corresponding year. The state poet can serve no more than three terms. The inaugural poet laureate will be appointed in spring 2013. Arizona's first poet laureate, Alberto Ríos, was appointed by Governor Brewer on August 19, 2013.

Further Resources:

<<< Previous State     Next State >>>

Top of Page Top of Page
  Home >> Guides >> State Poets >> Arizona
  The Library of Congress >> Researchers
  June 26, 2017
Contact Us:  
Ask a Librarian