Skip Navigation Links  The Library of Congress >> Researchers
Main Reading Room (Researcher and Reference Services Division)
  Home >> Guides >> State Poets >> California


Current Laureate:
Dana Gioia

Start of Term:
December 4, 2015

Position History:
The unofficial position of poet laureate was established with the appointment of Ina Donna Coolbrith on June 30, 1915. The official position of Poet Laureate of California was created by Assemblymember Fran Pavley (D-Agoura Hills) under Assembly Bill 113, and was signed in 2001 by Governor Gray Davis. While the unofficial position carried a lifetime appointment, current laureates are appointed to two-year terms. After Quincy Troupe resigned from the position in 2002 for falsifying information on his resume, the position remained vacant until the appointment of Al Young by Governor Arnold Schwarzenegger on May 12, 2005.

Previous Laureates:
Ina Donna Coolbrith (1915-1928)
Henry Meade Bland (1929-1931)
John Steven McGroarty (1933-1944)
Gordon W. Norris (1953-1961)
Charles B. Garrigus (1966-2000)
Quincy Troupe (2002)
Al Young (May 12, 2005-2008)
Carol Muske-Dukes (November 13, 2008-2011)
Juan Felipe Herrera (March 26, 2012-2014)

Further Resources:

<<< Previous State     Next State >>>

Top of Page Top of Page
  Home >> Guides >> State Poets >> California
  The Library of Congress >> Researchers
  February 23, 2018
Legal | External Link Disclaimer

Contact Us:
Ask a Librarian