Skip Navigation Links  The Library of Congress >> Researchers
Main Reading Room (Humanities and Social Sciences Division)
  Home >> Bibliographies and Guides >> U.S. State Poets Laureate >> Colorado


Lyric Poetry Mural, Lyric Poetry (detail), by Henry O. Walker, in the South Corridor, Jefferson Building, Library of Congress.
Photographic print.

Prints and Photographs Online Catalog.
Library of Congress.

Current Laureate:
Joseph Hutchison

Start of Term:
September 9, 2014

Position History:
Position established 1919. First laureate was Alice Polk Hill. The Colorado Creative Industries website notes of the selection process: "A panel is convened to review nominations and make recommendations to the Governor, who makes the final selection.... The Poet Laureate The program is a partnership between Colorado Creative Industries and Colorado Humanities." The appointment, formerly lifetime, is now a four-year term.

Previous Laureates:
Alice Polk Hill (1919-1921)
Nellie Burget Miller (1923-1952)
Margaret Clyde Robinson (1952-1954)
Milford E. Shields (1954-1975)
Thomas Hornsby Ferril (1979-1988)
Mary Crow (1996-2010)
David Mason (July 1, 2010-September 7, 2014)

Further Resources:


<<< Previous State     Next State >>>

Top of Page Top of Page
  Home >> Bibliographies and Guides >> U.S. State Poets Laureate >> Colorado
  The Library of Congress >> Researchers
  September 10, 2014
Contact Us:  
Ask a Librarian