Skip Navigation Links  The Library of Congress >> Researchers
Main Reading Room (Researcher and Reference Services Division)
  Home >> Guides >> State Poets >> Connecticut


Current Laureate:
Rennie McQuilkin

Start of Term:
July 1, 2015

Position History:
Position established in 1985 by the Connecticut General Assembly (P.A. 85-221); codified in Sec. 3-110f of the Connecticut General Statutes. The poet laureate is appointed by the Connecticut Commission on Culture & Tourism.

Previous Laureates:
James Merill (1985-1995)
Leo Connellan (1996-2001)
Marilyn Nelson (2001-2007)
John Hollander (March 7, 2007-October 2009)
Dick Allen (July 1, 2010-June 30, 2015)

Further Resources:

<<< Previous State     Next State >>>

Top of Page Top of Page
  Home >> Guides >> State Poets >> Connecticut
  The Library of Congress >> Researchers
  February 23, 2018
Legal | External Link Disclaimer

Contact Us:
Ask a Librarian