Skip Navigation Links  The Library of Congress >> Researchers
Main Reading Room (Humanities and Social Sciences Division)
  Home >> <Bibliographies & Guides >> U.S. State Poets Laureate >> District of Columbia

District of Columbia

Lyric Poetry Mural, Lyric Poetry (detail), by Henry O. Walker, in the South Corridor, Jefferson Building, Library of Congress.
Photographic print.

Prints and Photographs Online Catalog.
Library of Congress.

Current Laureate:
Dolores Kendrick

May 14, 1999

Position History:
Sterling Brown was appointed the first poet laureate of the District of Columbia by Mayor Marion Barry in May 1984. After Brown's death in 1989, the position became defunct until poet E. Ethelbert Miller submitted a proposal to restore the position to the city. Mr. Miller also recommended Dolores Kendrick for the position to the District of Columbia Commission on Arts and Humanities. She was approved and subsequently appointed by Mayor Anthony Williams on May 14, 1999.

Previous Laureates:
Publications by Dolores Kendrick in the Library's online catalog.


<<< Previous State     Next State >>>


Top of Page Top of Page
  Home >> Bibliographies & Guides >> U.S. State Poets Laureate >> District of Columbia
  The Library of Congress >> Researchers
  September 8, 2014
Contact Us:  
Ask a Librarian