Skip Navigation Links  The Library of Congress >> Researchers
Main Reading Room (Humanities and Social Sciences Division)
  Home >> Bibliographies and Guides >> U.S. State Poets Laureate >> Delaware


Lyric Poetry Mural, Lyric Poetry (detail), by Henry O. Walker, in the South Corridor, Jefferson Building, Library of Congress.
Photographic print.

Prints and Photographs Online Catalog.
Library of Congress.

Current Laureate:
JoAnn Balingit

Start of Term:
May 14, 2008

Position History:
Position established April 28, 1947 (Laws, Vol. 46, Chap. 347; Code, Title 29, Sec. 4401). The Delaware Department of State website provides a brief history of the position. After E. Jean Lanyon's term expired in 1981, no new laureate was named and she served as unofficial poet laureate until Fleda Brown's appointment in 2001. The position is now open-ended; a new bill passed June 28, 2000, replaced "a 2 year term Poet Laureate who is to be appointed January 1 of odd numbered years (with Department of State office space mandated) with an appointment at the pleasure of the Governor."

Previous Laureates:
Edna Deemer Leach (1947-1949)
Jeannette Slocum Edwards (1950-1953)
Frances Shannon Flowers (McNeal) (1954)
Katherine King Johnson (1955)
David Hudson (1956-1960)
Alison Kimball Bradford (1961)
Margaret Eleanor Weaver (1962)
Mother Aloysius Peach (1963-1964)
Dr. Percival R. Roberts, III (1965-1966)
Joyce Carlson (1967-1968)
Antonia Bissell Laird (1969-1970)
Dr. Harry O. Eisenberg (1971)
David Hudson (1975-1976)
E. Jean Lanyon (1979-1981)
Fleda Brown (October 26, 2001-2007)

Further Resources:


<<< Previous State     Next State >>>


Top of Page Top of Page
  Home >> Bibliographies and Guides >> U.S. State Poets Laureate >> Delaware
  The Library of Congress >> Researchers
  November 21, 2013
Contact Us:  
Ask a Librarian