Skip Navigation Links  The Library of Congress >> Researchers
Main Reading Room (Humanities and Social Sciences Division)
  Home >> Bibliographies and Guides >> U.S. State Poets Laureate >> Florida


Lyric Poetry Mural, Lyric Poetry (detail), by Henry O. Walker, in the South Corridor, Jefferson Building, Library of Congress.
Photographic print.

Prints and Photographs Online Catalog.
Library of Congress.

Current Laureate:
Peter Meinke

Position History:
June 15, 2015

Position History:
Position established 1928 by governor's proclamation. First laureate was Franklin N. Wood. The post had been a lifetime appointement through the tenure of Edmund Skellings, who passed away August 19, 2012. Florida lawmakers passed HB 513 on June 20, 2014, establishing a four-year term for Florida’s state poet laureate and designating all former Florida poets laureate “State Poet Laureate Emerita” (Florida Statute 265.2863). The poet laureate is appointed by the governor from a list of nominees selected by the Florida Council on Arts and Culture and culled by the Secretary of State. Peter Meinke is the first Florida poet laureate to serve under the 2014 statute.

Previous Laureates:
Franklin N. Wood (appointed 1929)
Vivian Laramore Rader (1931-1975)
Edmund Skellings (1980-August 19, 2012)

Further Resources:
Publications by Peter Meinke in the Library's online catalog.


<<< Previous State     Next State >>>

Top of Page Top of Page
  Home >> Bibliographies and Guides >> U.S. State Poets Laureate >> Florida
  The Library of Congress >> Researchers
  December 1, 2016
Legal | External Link Disclaimer

Contact Us:
Ask a Librarian