Skip Navigation Links  The Library of Congress >> Researchers
Main Reading Room (Researcher and Reference Services Division)
  Home >> Guides >> State Poets >> Mississippi


Current Laureate:
Beth Ann Fennelly

Start of Term
August 10, 2016

Position History:
First laureate was Maude Willard Leet Prenshaw, appointed by Gov. Ross Barnett in 1963. In 1973, Louise Moss Montgomery was named laureate by Gov. William Waller. Gov. Cliff Finch appointed Winifred Hamrick Farrar laueate in 1978. All three poets laureate served lifetime terms. Beginning with Natasha Trethewey, Mississippi poets laureate now serve four-year terms.

Previous Laureates:
Maude Willard Leet Prenshaw (1963-1971)
Louise Moss Montgomery (1973-January 1978)
Winifred Hamrick Farrar (July 31, 1978-November 6, 2010)
Natasha Trethewey (January 2012-August 9, 2016)

Previous Laureates:
Publications by Beth Ann Fennelly in the Library's online catalog.

<<< Previous State     Next State >>>

Top of Page Top of Page
  Home >> Guides >> State Poets >> Mississippi
  The Library of Congress >> Researchers
  February 23, 2018
Legal | External Link Disclaimer

Contact Us:
Ask a Librarian