Skip Navigation Links  The Library of Congress >> Researchers
Main Reading Room (Humanities and Social Sciences Division)
  Home >> Bibliographies & Guides >> U.S. State Poets Laureate >> Missouri


Lyric Poetry Mural, Lyric Poetry (detail), by Henry O. Walker, in the South Corridor, Jefferson Building, Library of Congress.
Photographic print.

Prints and Photographs Online Catalog.
Library of Congress.

Current Laureate:
William Trowbridge

Start of Term:
April 13, 2012

Position History:
Gov. Matt Blunt announced the creation of the position of Missouri Poet Laureate in October 2007. Position officially established on January 8, 2008 by Executive Order 08-01, which was superseded on Devember 24, 2009 by Executive Order 09-28. EO 09-28 provides the following description of the position::

The Poet Laureate shall be named in January, 2010, and biennially thereafter, and shall serve for two years, at the pleasure of the Governor. In addition to other criteria established, the Poet Laureate must be a published poet, a resident of Missouri, be active in the poetry community, and be willing and able to promote poetry in the state of Missouri throughout the two-year term. The Poet Laureate shall be responsible for promoting the arts in Missouri by making public appearances at public libraries and schools across the state. The Poet Laureate shall also compose an original poem in honor of Missouri that may be used for publication and distribution.

Previous Laureates:
Walter Bargen (Febraury 13, 2008-January 2010)
David Clewell (March 3, 2010-January 31, 2012)

Further Resources:
Publications by William Trowbridge in the Library's online catalog.


<<< Previous State     Next State >>>


Top of Page Top of Page
  Home >> Bibliographies & Guides >> U.S. State Poets Laureate >> Missouri
  The Library of Congress >> Researchers
  September 16, 2013
Contact Us:  
Ask a Librarian