Skip Navigation Links  The Library of Congress >> Researchers
Main Reading Room (Humanities and Social Sciences Division)
  Home >> Bibliographies & Guides >> U.S. State Poets Laureate >> Montana


Lyric Poetry Mural, Lyric Poetry (detail), by Henry O. Walker, in the South Corridor, Jefferson Building, Library of Congress.
Photographic print.

Prints and Photographs Online Catalog.
Library of Congress.

Current Laureate:
Michael Earl Craig

Start of Term:
October 23, 2015

Position History:
Senate Bill 69, which creates the honorary, unpaid post of Montana state poet laureate, was signed into law by Gov. Brian Schweitzer on March 24, 2005. The first Montana state poet laureate, Sandra Alcosser, was appointed by Gov. Schweitzer on July 13, 2005.

Previous Laureates:
Sandra Alcosser (July 13, 2005-July 13, 2007)
Greg Pape (August 14, 2007-September 2009)
Henry Real Bird (September 25, 2009-August 2011)
Sheryl Noethe (August 2, 2011-July 31, 2013)
Tami Haaland (August 1, 2013-October 22, 2015)

Further Resources:

<<< Previous State     Next State >>>

Top of Page Top of Page
  Home >> Bibliographies & Guides >> U.S. State Poets Laureate >> Montana
  The Library of Congress >> Researchers
  November 4, 2015
Contact Us:  
Ask a Librarian