Skip Navigation Links  The Library of Congress >> Researchers
Main Reading Room (Researcher and Reference Services Division)
  Home >> Guides >> State Poets >> Nevada


Current Laureate:

Position History:
Position established July 15, 1957 by Gov. Grant Sawyer. First laureate was Mildred Breedlove. Through 2007 it had been a lifetime position and occupied by Norman Kaye since 1967. On April 30, 2007, Gov. Jim Gibbons named Kaye Poet Laureate Emeritus, a move which allows the state to appoint a new poet laureate.

Previous Laureates:
Norman Kaye (1967-April 2007)
Mildred Breedlove (appointed July 15, 1957)

<<< Previous State     Next State >>>

Top of Page Top of Page
  Home >> Guides >> State Poets >> Nevada
  The Library of Congress >> Researchers
  February 23, 2018
Legal | External Link Disclaimer

Contact Us:
Ask a Librarian