Skip Navigation Links  The Library of Congress >> Researchers
Main Reading Room (Researcher and Reference Services Division)
  Home >> Guides >> State Poets >> North Carolina

North Carolina

Current Laureate:
Jaki Shelton Green

Start of Term:
July 1, 2018

Position History:
Position estbalished 1935 (General Assembly Resolution No. 60). First laureate was Arthur Talmadge Abernethy. The laureate is appointed by the governor, typically with the advice of a committee assembled by the North Carolina Arts Council. The term of office, formerly lifetime, and then five years, is now two years.

On July 11, 2014, Valerie Macon, was appointed to the position by Gov. Pat. McCrory without input from the North Carolina Arts Council. Almost immediately after the appointment Gov. McCrory's was criticized for his selection process, and Macon's qualifications for the position questioned. Macon resigned from the position on July 17, 2014, after less than one week in office. The position remained open until December 22, when Gov. McCrorary appointed Shelby Stephenson the new state poet. Stephenson was inducted as laureate on February 2, 2015.

Previous Laureates:
Arthur Abernethy (1948-1953)
James Larkin Pearson (1953-1981)
Sam Ragan (1982-April 1996)
Fred Chappell (December 10, 1997-December 2002)
Kathryn Stripling Byer (February 24, 2005-February 2009)
Cathy Smith Bowers (February 10, 2010-June 30, 2012)
Joseph Bathanti (September 20, 2012-July 10, 2014)
Valerie Macon (July 11, 2014-July 17, 2014)
Shelby Stephenson(February 2, 2015-July 30, 2018)

Further Resources:

<<< Previous State     Next State >>>

Top of Page Top of Page
  Home >> Guides >> State Poets >> North Carolina
  The Library of Congress >> Researchers
  July 6, 2018
Legal | External Link Disclaimer

Contact Us:
Ask a Librarian