Skip Navigation Links  The Library of Congress >> Researchers
Main Reading Room (Humanities and Social Sciences Division)
  Home >> Bibliographies and Guides >> U.S. State Poets Laureate >> South Dakota

South Dakota

Lyric Poetry Mural, Lyric Poetry (detail), by Henry O. Walker, in the South Corridor, Jefferson Building, Library of Congress.
Photographic print.

Prints and Photographs Online Catalog.
Library of Congress.

Current Laureate:

Position History:
Position established 1937 with the appointment of Charles "Badger" Clark. Position enected by Legislature in 1959 (SL 1959, ch 307; SDC Supp 1960, § 55.0115). Text of law available online as part of the South Dakota Codified Laws, Sec. 1-22-7. The laureate is "appointed by the Governor to serve during the pleasure of the Governor."

On September 27, 2014, poet laureate David Allan Evans resigned after more than 12 years in office in order to provide an oppurtunity for other poets to serve in the position. He will serve as Poet Laureate Emeritus until the next state poet is appointed or until the 2015 Festival of the Books in Deadwood, SD. Applications for the vacant position were received by the South Dakota Poetry Society through January 1, 2015.

Previous Laureates:
Charles "Badger" Clark (1937)
Audrae Visser (1974-October 2001)
David Allan Evans (June 15, 2002-September 27, 2014)


<<< Previous State     Next State >>>

Top of Page Top of Page
  Home >> Bibliographies and Guides >> U.S. State Poets Laureate >> South Dakota
  The Library of Congress >> Researchers
  January 13, 2015
Contact Us:  
Ask a Librarian