Skip Navigation Links  The Library of Congress >> Researchers
Main Reading Room (Researcher and Reference Services Division)
  Home >> Guides >> >State Poets >> Texas


Current Laureate:
Carol Coffee Reposa

Start of Term:

Position History:
According to the Texas State Library and Archives Commission, "Senate Concurrent Resolution No. 82, 43rd Legislature, Regular Session (1933) authorized appointment of a committee by the Lieutenant Governor and the Speaker of the House to designate an outstanding and recognized poet, who is also a citizen of the state of Texas, as poet laureate." As established by SB 1043 of the 77th Legislature, the state poet laureate currently is selected for a one-year appointment by the Texas Poet Laureate, State Musician and State Artist Committee.

Previous Laureates:
A list of previous Texas State Poets Laureate is available from the Texas State Library and Archives Commission.

Further Resources:
Publications by Jenny Browne in the Library's online catalog.

<<< Previous State     Next State >>>

Top of Page Top of Page
  Home >> Guides >> State Poets >> Texas
  The Library of Congress >> Researchers
  November 5, 2018
Legal | External Link Disclaimer

Contact Us:
Ask a Librarian