Skip Navigation Links  The Library of Congress >> Researchers
Main Reading Room (Humanities and Social Sciences Division)
  Home >> Bibliographies and Guides >> U.S. State Poets Laureate >> Utah


Lyric Poetry Mural, Lyric Poetry (detail), by Henry O. Walker, in the South Corridor, Jefferson Building, Library of Congress.
Photographic print.

Prints and Photographs Online Catalog.
Library of Congress.

Current Laureate:
Lance Larsen

Start of Term:
May 5, 2012

Position History:
Position established January 24, 1997, with the appointment of David Lee by Mike Leavitt. The position is administered by the Utah State Poet Laureate Program, a collaborative effort between the Governor's Office and the Utah Arts Council Literature Program. The State Poet Laureate holds this position for five years and travels throughout the state to promote literature, particularly poetry, through speaking and reading engagements at colleges, universities, schools, community centers and other public venues.

Previous Laureates:
David Lee (January 24, 1997-December 2002)
Kenneth W. Brewer (January 24, 2003-March 15, 2006)
Katharine Coles (October 27, 2006 - May 5, 2012)

Further Resources:


<<< Previous State     Next State >>>


Top of Page Top of Page
  Home >> Bibliographies and Guides >> U.S. State Poets Laureate >> Utah
  The Library of Congress >> Researchers
  December 1, 2016
Legal | External Link Disclaimer

Contact Us:
Ask a Librarian