Skip Navigation Links  The Library of Congress >> Researchers
Main Reading Room (Humanities and Social Sciences Division)
  Home >> Guides >> State Poets >> Washington


Current Laureate:
Claudia Castro Luna

Start of Term:
January 31, 2018

Position History:
Ella Higginson was named the first unofficial Washington poet laureate by the Washington State Federation of Women's Clubs on June 17, 1931. House Bill 1279, which established the official position of Washington State Poet Laureate, was signed by Gov. Christine Gregoire April 19, 2007, and became effective July 22, 2007. The state poet serves a two-year appointment. Due to a budget shortfall, the position, which carries a stipend of $10,000, was suspended at the end of Samuel Green's term in December 2009. Gov. Gregoire permitted the position to resume in 2011, provided no state funds were used. The position is currently funded by the National Endowment for the Arts and Humanities Washington.

Previous Laureates:
Samuel Green (December 17, 2007-December 2009)
Kathleen Flenniken (February 9, 2012-January 2014)
Elizabeth Austen (February 1, 2014-January 31, 2016)
Tod Marshall (February 1, 2016-January 31, 2018)

Further Resources:

<<< Previous State     Next State >>>

Top of Page Top of Page
  Home >> Guides >> State Poets >> Washington
  The Library of Congress >> Researchers
  February 26, 2018
Contact Us:  
Ask a Librarian