Skip Navigation Links  The Library of Congress >> Researchers
Newspaper and Current Periodical Reading Room (Serial and Government Publications Division)
  Home >> Topics in Chronicling America

Topics in Chronicling America - From Territory to Statehood: The Northern West

After years of serving as territories, North Dakota, South Dakota, Montana, and Washington all join the Union as new states in November 1889. Congress agreed to allow Montana and Washington to become states and they split the Dakota territory into two new states. Idaho soon followed, gaining statehood in July 1890. Read more about it!

The information and sample article links below provide access to a sampling of articles from historic newspapers that can be found in the Chronicling America: American Historic Newspapers digital collection ( Use the Suggested Search Terms and Dates to explore this topic further in Chronicling America.

Map showing boundary line of the proposed new state (of Montana)

Jump to: Sample Articles

Important Dates:

  • November 1889: North Dakota, South Dakota, Montana and Washington are admitted as states.
  • July 1890: Idaho joins the Union as a state.

Suggested Search Terms:

  • [Try the following terms in combination, proximity, or as phrases using Search Pages in Chronicling America.] Dakota, state, admission, territory, 46th parallel, Fargo, Delegate Fred Dubois.

Sample Articles from Chronicling America:

North Dakota & South Dakota




Top of Page Top of Page
  Home >> Topics in Chronicling America
  The Library of Congress >> Researchers
  January 30, 2013
Legal | External Link Disclaimer

Contact Us:  
Ask a Librarian