Concerts from the Library of Congress, 2009-2010

2010-11 Preview Schedule

The Library of Congress celebrates its 85 years of history as a concert presenter with a stellar 36-event season presenting new American music at the intersection of many genres–classical music, jazz, country, folk and pop.

Honoring a longstanding commitment to American creativity and strong support for American composers, the series offers a new music mini-festival, with world premiere performances of Library of Congress commissions by Sebastian Currier and Stephen Hartke. Twelve of the nation’s distinguished composers, established and emerging, come to the Library for premieres, performances, and preconcert conversations. The season lineup also offers impressive period instrument ensembles and artists–Ensemble 415, The English concert, Trevor Pinnock and Paolo Pandolfo.

Concerts are presented in the Library’s historic Coolidge Auditorium, located in the Thomas Jefferson Building, 1st and Independence, S.E., unless otherwise noted. All events are free of charge to the public, but tickets are required, available through TicketMaster for a nominal service charge, and from the Atlas Performing Arts Center box office for onLOCation at the Atlas events. For updated concert listings, and details about repertoire and pre-concert presentations, please visit the concert website at and subscribe to the concert series listserv.

For concert descriptions, see the Press Release on the 2010-2011 season.

DateEvent Descrition Tickets available
2010 Events
Friday, October 8
Wednesday, October 13
Thursday, October 14
Thursday, October 21
Thursday, October 28
Saturday, October 30
Tuesday, November 9
Saturday, November 13
Friday, November 19
Saturday, November 20
Friday, December 3
Saturday, December 4
Saturday, December 11
Saturday, December 18
Ensemble 415
Arcanto Quartet
The English Concert
Talich Quartet
Thomas Hampson and Craig Rutenberg
Helsinki Baroque - Founder’s Day Concert
Gautier Capuçon, cello & Gabriela Montero, piano
Man, Music, and Machine, Borromeo Quartet 2 p.m.
Doric Quartet
Wadada Leo Smith’s Golden Quartet
Lionel Loueke Trio onLOCation at the Atlas
Country Music Association Songwriters Series
Jack Gottlieb: Lecture-concert and booksigning, 2 p.m.
18 Sybarite5 - Stradivari Anniversary
Sep 8
Sep 8
Sep 8
Sep 8
Sep 15
Sep 15
Sep 29
Oct 6
Oct 6
Oct 20*
Oct 20
Nov 3
2011 Events
Friday, February 4
Friday, February 11
Tuesday, February 22
Friday, February 25
Saturday, February 26
Tuesday, March 1
Thursday, March 3
Friday, March 4
Saturday, March 5
Thursday, March 10
Friday, March 11
Saturday, March 26
Tuesday, March 29
Friday, April 8
Saturday, April 9
Monday, April 11
Thursday, April 28
Thursday, May 5
Friday, May 6
Saturday, May 7
Friday, May 13
Saturday, May 14
Friday, May 20
Saturday, May 21
Salzburg Hyperion Ensemble
Utrecht String Quartet
Quatuor Debussy with Katherine Chi, piano
Eddie Daniels, clarinet & Roger Kellaway, piano
Paolo Pandolfo, viola da gamba & Thomas Boysen, theorbo
Brad Mehldau, piano
Schumann Trio
Shepherd School of Music - 12 p.m
Shepherd School of Music - 2 p.m.
Wordless Music Orchestra with Tyondai Braxton
Antares with Marianna Mihai-Zoeter, soprano
Tanya Tomkins, Baroque cello - (11:00 am / 5:30 pm)
Trevor Pinnock, harpsichord
London Conchord Ensemble
U.S. Army Blues - Ellington, Mingus, and Mulligan - 2 pm
Martial Solal, piano
Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center
U.S. Army Band "Pershing's Own" - Music of Aaron Copland
Colin Jacobsen, violin & Bruce Levingston, piano
Sue Mathys Broadway Cabaret On LOCation at the Atlas
Music from Moscow with Tigran Alikhanov, piano
NOW Ensemble / Victoire On LOCation at the Atlas
eighth blackbird
U.S. Army Band "Pershing's Own” On LOCation at the Atlas
Dec 22
Dec 29
Jan 12
Jan 12
Jan 12
Jan 19
Jan 19
Jan 26
Jan 26
Feb 9
Feb 16
Feb 23
Feb 23
Mar 16
Mar 23
Mar 23*
Mar 30
Mar 30*
Apr 6

* Tickets available through the Atlas Performing Arts Center Box Office

Film Series

Film Screenings 7:00 p.m. Mary Pickford Theater, James Madison Building, 3rd Floor
No advance reservations are required for Music Division film screenings. Free tickets will be distributed on the night of each screening on a first-come, first-served basis. Seating is limited, and patrons are encouraged to arrive early.

For further information, please call (202) 707-5503, or visit the concert website,