Concerts from the Library of Congress, 2009-2010

Highlights of the Eighty-fourth Season 2009-2010

Burhans and Shaheen

The Concerts from the Library of Congress series presents a definitive look at the intimate art of the string quartet as the centerpiece of its 84th concert season, which offers 32 concerts, three film series, and 25 lectures by notable scholars, scientists and other experts.

Commissions and Premieres

The Library has commissioned new music for strings by Caleb Burhans to be premiered by the Jack Quartet on April 30, 2010. This commission was made possible by the Boris and Sonya Kroyt Fund. » view concert details

Schifrin, Vinao and Adams

Composer-violinist Simon Shaheen performs a work for violin and keyboard commissioned by the Library’s McKim Fund. The May 8, 2010 concert takes place at the Atlas Center for the Performing Arts as part of the Library's new On LOCation series. » view concert details

In honor of 200th anniversary of Joseph Haydn's death, a new work by Lalo Schifrin, Elegy and Meditation, will receive its U.S. premiere on November 20, 2009 as part of a concert by the Haydn Trio Eisenstadt. » view concert details

On December 4, 2009, the St. Lawrence String Quartet will perform the Washington, D.C. premiere of John Adams' String Quartet on a program also featuring the world premiere of a new string quartet by Ezequiel Viñao, commissioned by the Carolyn Royall Just Fund and Standford Lively Arts. Mendelssohn Octet (first page) and Wanda Landowska» view concert details

From the Collections

From the Gertrude Clarke Whittall Collection, the autograph score of Mendelssohn’s brilliant Octet (page 1 shown on the right) for strings receives its first public performance on period instruments by the Eroica String Quartet and friends on October 19, 2009. » view concert details

The recently acquired Wanda Landowska Collection includes her two Pleyel harpsichords, one of which will be featured in a special performance by keyboard artist, Mahan Esfahani, on May 29, 2010. » view concert details

OnLOCation and Music and the Brain II

The Library goes "onLOCation" to the Atlas Performing Arts Center (1333 H. St. N.E., Wshington, D.C.) for jazz and world music concerts, showcasing three visionary composer-performers: drummer Dafnis Prieto, violinist and oud player Simon Shaheen, and pianist Uri Caine. Classically trained, with commissions from prestigious ensembles and institutions, the three are recognized for a command of technique and expression across musical cultures, and for their strong influence on musicians and composers of their generation.
Image of a brain with music in the background » Read more about the On LOCation series

The popular Music and the Brain series returns for a second season of 18 lectures, panel discussions, film screenings and several "Mind of the Musician" encounters with composers and performers. Presented as part of the umbrella series, "Talking About Music," these events are co-sponsored by the Library’s Music Division and the Science, Business and Technology Division, through the generous support of the Dana Foundation.
» Read more about Music and the Brain II