The Library of Congress >> Overseas Offices
Library of Congress New Delhi Office
The South Asian Literary Recordings Project

Nabaneeta Dev Sen, 1938-


Image of  Nabaneeta Dev Sen, 1938- (photo credit: Bikas Das)

Select page numbers to listen or LCCN to display the bibliographic record.


  1. Nati Nabanita.
    1. samskarana. Kalikata : Ananda Pabalisarsa, 1985 printing.
    (LCCN: 83906864)
  2. Nabanita Debasenera sreshtha kabita.
    2. samskarana. Kalakata : Deja Pabalisim, 1996.
    (LCCN: 89903804)
  3. Sabda pare tapura tupura.
    1. samskarana. Kalakata : Ananda Pabalisarsa, 1995.
    (LCCN: 95905013)
    • "Kabita banita caiba sukhada svayamagata"
      MP3 excerpt: pp. 61-62
    • "Sudhu kabitara janya tumi nari"
      MP3 excerpt: pp. 62-64
  4. Sita theke suru.
    1. samskarana. Kalakata : Ananda Pabalisarsa, 2000 printing.
    (LCCN: 2001291960)
  5. Naba-nita.
    Kalikata : Mitra o Ghosha Pabalisarsa, 1999 printing.
    (LCCN: 98900398)
    • "Ekati metropalitana silpimana o madhyabitta bidrohera udaharana"
      MP3 excerpt: pp. 300-303
    • "Snana parba"
      MP3 excerpt: pp. 89-92

Nabaneeta Dev Sen is one of the most versatile Bengali female writers of India today. She was born on January 13, 1938 in Calcutta. Her spontaneity, unique style of expression, vast and varied experience of life are evident in her poems, short stories, novels, features, and essays. Her wit and humor, sense of detachment together with heart-to-heart sensibility give her writings a personal touch that is hard to ignore. Some of her well-known works are Bama-bodhini, Nati Nabanita, Srestha kabita, Sita theke suru.

An internationally known poet, she is widely respected in the academia as well. She was a professor of Comparative Literature at Jadavpur University in Calcutta and is the founder secretary of the Indian National Comparative Literature Association. Dev Sen has served on many boards and committees in different capacities. She was the Member, Advisory Board for Bengali, Sahitya Akademi in 1978-1982; and Member and Convenor, Bharatiya Jnanpith Award Language Advisory Committee, 1975-1990. She has received many awards including the Gouridevi Memorial Award; Mahadevi Verma Award, 1992; Celli Award from Rockefeller Foundation, 1993; Sarat Award from Bhagalpur University, Bihar in 1994; Prasad Puraskar; Sahitya Akademi Award, 1999.

The Library of Congress has seventeen titles by her.

The Library of Congress >> Overseas Offices >> New Delhi
January 11, 2016
Contact Us
Legal | External Link Disclaimer