Skip to main content

Collection Aaron Copland Collection


From "Canticle of Freedom" to "The Cummington Story" (9 works)

Canticle of Freedom
Form: Chorus and orchestra
Date: 1955
Text: John Barbour, modernized by Willis Wager
First performance: 8 May 1955. Cambridge, Mass. Massachusetts Institute of Technology Chorus and Orchestra, cond. Klaus Liepmann
Publisher: Boosey & Hawkes
Date of publication: 1968
Timing: 13'
Notes: Revised in 1967. The opening is based on the opening of the unfinished Let Us Now Praise Famous Men. Chávez had set this text, which Copland probably found for him in Louis Untermeyer's anthology Treasury of Great Poems, English and American, in 1942
Related digital items:
The Cat and the Mouse: Scherzo humoristique
Form: Piano
Date: 1920
First performance: 23 September 1921. Paris. Aaron Copland, piano
Publisher: Durand & Cie.
Date of publication: 1921
Timing: 3'
Notes: the current subtitle of the piece, "Scherzo humoristique," seems to have been its original title, and "The Cat and the Mouse" the subtitle
Related digital items:
Ceremonial Fanfare
Form: Brass
Date: 1969
Publisher: Boosey & Hawkes
Date of publication: 1974
Timing: 3'
Notes: for 4 horns, 3 trumpets, 3 trombones and tuba. "Commissioned by the New York City Metropolitan Museum of Art in Celebration of its Centennial Year – 1969"
The City
Form: Film score
Date: 1939
First performance: 1939, New York World's Fair
Publisher: Unpublished as a film score
Notes: two sections of the film were included in Music for the Movies as "New England Countryside" and "Sunday Traffic."
Related digital items:
Concerto for Clarinet and String Orchestra
Date: 1947-1949
First performance: 6 November 1950. New York. NBC Symphony Orchestra, cond. Fritz Reiner; Benny Goodman, clarinet
Timing: 17'
Dedication: "for Benny Goodman"
Contents: I. Slowly and expressively II. Rather fast
Notes: Choreographed in 1951 by Jerome Robbins as Pied Piper
Related digital items:
Concerto for Piano and Orchestra
Date: 1926
First performance: 28 January 1927. Boston Symphony Orchestra, cond. Serge Koussevitzky. Aaron Copland, piano
Publisher: Cos Cob Press
Date of publication: 1929
Timing: 18'
Dedication: "to Alma Wertheim."
Contents: I. Andante sostenuto II. Molto moderato / Allegro assai
Related digital items:
Form: Orchestra
Date: 1961-1962
First performance: 23 September 1962. New York. New York Philharmonic, cond. Leonard Bernstein
Publisher: Boosey & Hawkes
Date of publication: 1963
Timing: 20'
Dedication: "Commissioned by the New York Philharmonic in celebration of its opening season in the Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts and dedicated to the members of the orchestra and its music director Leonard Bernstein"
Notes: The first performance took place at the opening concert of the Lincoln Center
Related digital items:
Cortege Macabre
Form: Orchestra
Date: 1923
First performance: 1 May, 1925, N.Y.: Rochester Philharmonic, Howard Hanson, conductor
Publisher: Boosey & Hawkes
Date of publication: 1978
Timing: 8'
Dedication: Harold Clurman
Notes: an excerpt from Grohg
Related digital items:
The Cummington Story
Form: Film score
Date: 1945
Publisher: Unpublished
Publisher: Unpublished
Notes: a production of the U.S. Office of War Information. An except from this score was published as a piano solo under the title In Evening Air
 Back to top