Top of page

Collection Aaron Copland Collection


From "El Salón México" to "Episode" (4 works)

El Salón México
Form: Orchestra
Date: 1936
First performance: 27 August 1937 Orquésta Sinfónico de México, cond. Carlos Chávez
Publisher: Boosey & Hawkes
Date of publication: 1939
Timing: 12'
Dedication: "to Victor Kraft."
Notes: Arranged for piano by Leonard Bernstein in 1939
Related digital items:
Elegies for Violin and Viola
Date: 1932
First performance: 2 April 1933. New York. Charlotte & Ivor Karman
Publisher: Unpublished
Notes: withdrawn when material from the Elegies was used in the fourth movement ("Subjective") of Statements. The close of Elegies was used as the end of the third movement of the Third Symphony
Related digital items:
Form: Band
Date: 1964
First performance: December 18, 1964. Tempe, Arizona: The Trojan Band of the University of Southern California, cond. William Schaefer
Publisher: Boosey & Hawkes
Date of publication: 1965
Timing: 11'
Related digital items:
Form: Organ
Date: 1941
First performance: 9 March 1941. William Strickland, organ
Timing: 4'
Notes: Copland's original title for this piece was "Improvisation."
Related digital items: