Top of page

Collection Aaron Copland Collection


From "Quartet for Piano and Strings" to "Quiet City" (2 works)

Quartet for Piano and Strings
Date: 1950
First performance: 29 October 1950. Washington, D.C. New York Piano Quartet
Publisher: Boosey & Hawkes
Date of publication: 1952
Timing: 23'
Dedication: "to Elizabeth Sprague Coolidge"
Contents: I. Adagio serio II. Allegro giusto III. Non troppo lento
Related digital items:
Quiet City
Form: Trumpet, English horn, and string orchestra
Date: 1940
First performance: 28 January 1941. New York: Saidenberg Little Symphony, cond. Saidenberg
Publisher: Boosey & Hawkes
Date of publication: 1941
Timing: 10'
Dedication: "to Ralph Hawkes."
Notes: Based on music written in 1939 for Irwin Shaw's play "Quiet City," which was withdrawn after two preview performances, the first on April 16, 1939. The music for the play was scored for clarinet, saxophone, trumpet, and piano. The orchestral work is scored for trumpet, English horn, and strings
Related digital items: