Skip to main content

Collection Brazilian Presidential Election 2010 Web Archive

About this Collection

Collection Period:
September 2010 to January 2011.

The Brazilian elections were held October 3, 2010. The president, Luiz Inácio Lula da Silva, was not allowed by law to run for another term, as he had already served two terms. So there was great interest in whether voters supported Lula's candidate (his current Chief of Staff), the candidate of the major opposition party, or even the Green Party candidate running on an environmental platform.

The first round was held on October 3rd along with state and federal elections as part of the 2010 general election. Since no presidential candidate received 50 percent of the vote on October 3rd, a runoff was held on October 31st between the two candidates who received the most votes in the first round: Dilma Rousseff, PT-Partido dos Trabalhadores, and José Serra, PSDB-Partido da Social Democracia Brasileira. Sites harvested as part of this collection include national political party and candidates websites.

 Back to top