Skip to main content

Collection Indian General Election 2009 Web Archive

About this Collection

Collection Period:
April 9, 2009 to June 29, 2009.

This collection of websites documents the 2009 Indian General Elections. As the world’s most populated democratic nation with the largest number of eligible voters, India’s political landscape encompasses an electorate comprised of 44 major linguistic groups and over 61 officially recognized political parties at the national and state level.

To constitute the 15th Lok Sabha (Lower House of the Indian Parliament), general elections in India were held in five phases between April 16 and May 13, 2009. As the election campaign progressed, indicators pointed to an erosion of the power of national political parties and a strengthening of regional political parties. Ultimately, the final results of the election showed national political parties receiving the majority of votes and corresponding seats in Parliament.

Sites harvested as part of this archive project include candidate, government, national and state political party websites.

Staff from the Library of Congress New Delhi Office and the Asian Division in Washington, D.C. selected the websites and reviewed the archived results.

 Back to top