Top of page

Collection Maps of Liberia, 1830 to 1870

1900 to 1997

1900-1997 One Nation, Many Peoples


  1. 1903

    The British and Liberian governments came to an agreement about the borders between Sierra Leone and Liberia.

  2. 1904

    The Liberian government instituted an administrative system that brought indigenous peoples into an indirect political relationship with the central government through their own paid officials.

  3. 1919

    Liberia was one of the nations to sign the League of Nations covenant after World War I.

  4. 1929

    An International Commission investigated charges of slavery and forced labor in Liberia. A year later, the committee could not substantiate such charges according to international law. They did find, however, that Liberian officials, including the republic's vice president, profited from indigenous people's forced labor.

  5. 1944

    William V. S. Tubman was elected to the first of seven terms as Liberian president.

  6. 1946

    The right to vote and participate in elections was extended to Liberia's indigenous peoples.

  7. 1958

    Liberian representatives attended the first conference of independent African nations.

  8. 1967

    Liberian officials served on the Organization of African Unity's Consultation Committee on Nigeria's civil war.

  9. 1971

    President Tubman died in office.

  10. 1972

    William R. Tolbert, Jr. was elected to Liberia's presidency after finishing Tubman's unexpired term.

  11. 1979

    On April 14, a rally protesting the increase of rice prices ended in riot.

  12. 1980

    A military coup led by Samuel K. Doe, a Liberian of non-American descent, assassinated President Tolbert and overthrew the government that had held sway over Liberia since 1847. This ended Liberia's first republic.

  13. 1985

    Civilian rule was restored.

  14. 1986

    A new constitution established the second republic of Liberia. Samuel K. Doe, the 1980 coup leader, retained power as head of state.

  15. 1989

    Charles Taylor, an Americo-Liberian, and his followers toppled the Doe-led government. This action helped precipitate a civil war. Various ethnic factions fought for control of the nation.

  16. 1990

    Rebel forces executed Liberia's former head of state, Samuel K. Doe, who had overthrown the first republic a decade before.

    The West African Peacekeeping force was formed to maintain order in the region.

  17. 1995

    The 16-member Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) brokered a peace treaty between Liberia's warring factions. An interim State Council established a tentative timetable for elections.

    The Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) re-negotiated peace.

  18. 1997

    Charles Taylor was elected president of the third republic of Liberia.