Top of page

Collection National American Woman Suffrage Association Records


A chronology of key events in the history of the National American Woman Suffrage Association (NAWSA).


  1. 1869, May 15

    Founding of the National Woman Suffrage Association (NWSA) in New York City

  2. 1869, Nov. 24

    Founding of the American Woman Suffrage Association (AWSA) in Cleveland, Ohio

  3. 1870

    AWSA established the Woman's Journal

  4. 1890, Feb.18

    Founding convention of the National American Woman Suffrage Association (NAWSA) by the merger of the NWSA and the AWSA

  5. 1890

    Elizabeth Cady Stanton served as president of NAWSA (through 1892)

  6. 1892

    Susan B. Anthony elected president of NAWSA (through 1900)

  7. 1900

    First presidency of Carrie Chapman Catt (through 1904); enacted a "Society Plan" to recruit new members to the cause

  8. 1904

    Anna Howard Shaw served as president of NAWSA (through 1915)

  9. 1913, Mar. 3

    NAWSA organized the first national suffrage parade in Washington, D.C., the day before President Woodrow Wilson's inauguration

  10. 1913, Apr.

    NAWSA member Alice Paul founded the Congressional Union for Woman Suffrage (CU), initially consisting of women in the District of Columbia who supported the work of NAWSA's Congressional Committee. The CU and NAWSA's Congressional Committee are separate entities, but Paul chairs both and the executive boards are identical

  11. 1914, Feb.

    NAWSA and the Congressional Union for Woman Suffrage, under Alice Paul's leadership, formally severed ties. NAWSA voted against admitting the CU as an auxiliary member. Eventually, in March 1917, the CU merged with the National Woman's Party (NWP), which it had created in June 1916

  12. 1915, Dec.

    Carrie Chapman Catt resumed the presidency of NAWSA

  13. 1916

    NAWSA President Carrie Chapman Catt devised a "Winning Plan" to campaign for suffrage on federal and state levels

  14. 1919, June

    Nineteenth Amendment passed in Congress and sent to states for ratification; NAWSA supported state ratification campaigns

  15. 1920

    Final NAWSA Convention and formal establishment of a National League of Women Voters. Under Catt's leadership, NAWSA remained involved in the International Woman Suffrage Alliance

  16. 1920, Aug. 26

    Nineteenth Amendment becomes law after ratification by thirty-six states

  17. 1922

    NAWSA published sixth and final volume of the History of Woman Suffrage, edited by Ida Husted Harper

  18. 1923

    NAWSA closed its New York headquarters; Catt remained president until her death in March 1947

  19. 1947

    Caroline McCormick Slade served as NAWSA's last president

  20. 1950, Jan. 9

    NAWSA board held its last meeting and dispersed all assets to other women's organizations including the League of Women Voters