Skip to main content

Collection Sri Lankan Presidential and General Elections 2010 Web Archive

About this Collection

Collection Period:
December 2009 to September 2010.

After three decades of ethnic war, the Liberation Tigers of Tamil Eelam (LTTE) were defeated under President Rajapaksa and the United People’s Freedom Alliance’s (UPFA) government. In November 2009, President Rajapaksa completed four years in office. One presidential term in Sri Lanka is six years, yet presidential elections can be held after the completion of four years in office. With its recent victory against the LTTE, UPFA decided to hold presidential elections in January 2010, followed by general elections in April that same year. This collection is a selected set of websites documenting the 2010 Sri Lankan Presidential and General Elections, including candidate, government, national, state and political party websites.

 Back to top