Concerts from the Library of Congress, 2018-2019
Image of Rebecca Clarke

SATURDAY, MARCH 2, 2019 at 11 AM
Coolidge Auditorium

Get free tickets from Eventbrite
(tickets available 12/12/2018, beginning at 10 AM)

Cait Miller, Music Division
Katherine Murdock, viola | Audrey Andrist, piano

2019 will mark the 100th anniversary of the composition of Rebecca Clarke’s Viola Sonata, the manuscript of which is held at the Library of Congress. Elizabeth Sprague Coolidge awarded it a Berkshire Prize honorable mention, and it is one of three works by Clarke associated with Coolidge. We will have the opportunity to learn more about the work, one of the 20th-century’s important viola sonatas, and Clarke’s relationship with Coolidge, in addition to hearing the piece in performance.