Concerts from the Library of Congress, 2015-2016

FRIDAY, NOVEMBER 13, 2015 at 7:30 PM

Photo: Ensemble Intercontemporain

photo credit: Franck Ferville


Coolidge Auditorium

Dimitri Vassilakis, piano  |  Éric-Maria Couturier, cello
 Hidéki Nagano, piano  |  Diégo Tosi, violin  |  Hae-Sun Kang, violin

Since its foundation by Pierre Boulez in 1976, Ensemble Intercontemporain has been one of the world’s greatest ensembles dedicated to new music and 20th-century repertoire. A group of 31 core soloists make up the Ensemble’s roster, and under the direction of composer/conductor Matthias Pintscher they will perform a special collection of masterworks by Varèse, Berg and Ligeti. As a bonus, two recently composed pieces of chamber music will also be featured: the world premiere of a new work for violin and piano by composer Hannah Lash, commissioned by the Library, and a Library co-commission for solo cello by Pintscher, presented as part of the triptych Profiles of Light for the first time in the United States.


Two Movements for Violin and Piano (World Premiere)
Commissioned by the McKim Fund in the Library of Congress




Profiles of Light (U.S. Premiere)
      Now I for piano
      Now II for cello
        Co-Commissioned by the Moritzburg Festival and the Dina
        Koston and Roger Shapiro Fund in the Library of Congress
      Uriel for cello and piano


Chamber Concerto for 13 instrumentalists


Chamber Concerto for piano, violin and 13 winds

This performance is SOLD OUT. However, a limited number of RUSH tickets is available, at no cost, 2 hours before each performance. Patrons are strongly encouraged to try for a RUSH ticket at the door. Due to no-shows and returned tickets, some seats are ALWAYS available for sold out performances at curtain. RUSH tickets are offered on a space-available basis. Seats are not guaranteed.

6:00 PM - Whittall Pavilion (no tickets required)

with Hervé Boutry, Directeur Général, Ensemble Intercontemporain & Matthias Pintscher