Concerts from the Library of Congress, 2019-2020

THURSDAY, MAY 28, 2020 at 7:00-8:30 PM (EST)

Suzanne Farrin

Suzanne Farrin, photo by Luke Redmond

Ashley Fure

Ashley Fure, photo by Daniel Dorsa

Our new virtual program featuring the International Contemporary Ensemble, co-presented with Portland Ovations, replaces the Library’s postponed May 8, 2020 concert.

This event will be presented Live on YouTube

Register now for live event
(event is live on May 28 from 7-8:30pm EST)

Suzanne Farrin, ondes martenot  |  Alice Teyssier, voice
Ross Karre, percussion  |  Randall Zigler, bass
Nuiko Wadden, harp  |  Jacob Greenberg, piano
Ryan Streber, sound engineer

Experience a remarkable soundscape with us on May 28: evocative, aetherial timbres from two very unusual instruments, two world premieres, and intimate conversations with composers Suzanne Farrin and Ashley Fure. This special, 90-minute interactive digital concert brings you the first performance of Farrin’s Nacht, written for ondes Martenot, harp, percussion, bass and voice as a co-commission from the Library’s Carolyn Royall Just Fund and ICE.  Setting texts from the great mystic poets Rumi and Hafiz, Farrin explores concepts of language, translation and identity. She performs as ondist in Nacht, and in Olivier Messiaen’s Louange á l’Éternité de Jésus, an arrangement of the fifth movement from his transcendant Quatuor pour le fin du temps.

Ashley Fure’s interior listening protocol 1, created for this time of social distancing, calls for your engagement with a pair of instruments most musiclovers can easily find: two mason jars or two large glasses. Fure leads a slowly evolving choreography creating an immersive, shimmering soundcloud for viewers and participants.

The livestream also offers a “lobby” experience—a Zoom room for meeting friends before and after the performance, and catching live discussions between Farrin, Fure and the ICE musicians. You can also sample a short documentary about Suzanne Farrin and Nacht, a window into the creative development of the piece, and the challenges of remote rehearsals and performances in a virtual music lab.


Polvere et Ombra (2008)
Nacht (world premiere)


interior listening protocol 1 (world premiere)


"Louange à l'Éternité de Jésus" from Quatour pour la fin du temps