Concerts from the Library of Congress, 2014-2015: Beyond Labels

May 22 at 8 PM

Kaija Saariaho Composer, Kaija Saariaho (photo by Juha Tormala)

Jennifer Koh, Ieva Jokubaviciute, and Anssi Karttunen Performers (clockwise, starting up left): Jennifer Koh (photo by Juergen Frank), Ieva Jokubaviciute (photo by Janette Beckman), and Anssi Karttunen (photo by Irmeli Jung)

Coolidge Auditorium

Get free tickets from TicketMaster
(tickets available 01/07/2015, beginning at 10 AM)

A special collection of artists combines forces to present a new piano trio by the masterful Finnish composer Kaija Saariaho, commissioned in part by the Library of Congress. Three of Saariaho’s works will be performed by musicians who are no strangers to her music. A selection of sonatas by Debussy and Ravel populates the remainder of the program, including Ravel’s lesser-known duo sonata for violin and cello (composed as part of the Debussy memorial work Le tombeau de Claude Debussy). Nordic fresh air sweeps through the Gallic countryside, giving the whole a refreshing feel.

Presented in association with the European Month of Culture


Sonata for violoncello and piano


Aure, for violin and cello


Sonata for violin and violoncello


Sonata for violin and piano


Light and Matter
Co-commissioned by the Aeolian Chamber Players in Honor of the 50th Anniversary of the Bowdoin International Music Festival, the Dina Koston and Roger Shapiro Fund for New Music in the Library of Congress, Britten Sinfonia and Norrbotten NEO