Concerts from the Library of Congress, 2013-2014

APRIL 10 at 8 PM

Einojuhani Rautavaara

Finnish composer, Einojuhani Rautavaara

Coolidge Auditorium

The venerable Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center returns to the Library, bringing special guests and the Amphion String Quartet for an evening of thought-provoking contemporary music. The centerpiece is a new joint commission of the Library and the Chamber Music Society: the world premiere of Variations for Five: String Quintet no. 2 by Finnish composer Einojuhani Rautavaara. This impressive collective of leading performers explores works by master composers Pierre Jalbert, Elliott Carter and Olivier Messiaen. Composer-clarinetist Jörg Widmann, recently composer-in-residence at the Salzburg and Lucerne Festivals, performs his own Fantasie for solo clarinet.


Visual Abstract for flute, clarinet, violin, cello, piano, and percussion


Esprit Rude / Esprit
Doux II for flute, clarinet and marimba


Fantasie for solo clarinet

RAUTAVAARA (World Premiere)

Variations for Five: String Quintet no. 2
[Commissioned by the Library of Congress Dina Koston and Roger Shapiro Fund for New Music and The Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center]


Quatuor pour la fin du temps (Quartet for the End of Time)

6:30 PM - Whittall Pavilion (no tickets required)

The Music Division’s Anne McLean talks with composers Pierre Jalbert, Jorg Widmann, Michael Lawrence, Director of Artistic Programming, Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center, and two of the Society's players.