Concerts from the Library of Congress, 2016-2017

SATURDAY, APRIL 8, 2017 at 8 PM

Photo: Orion String Quartet Photo: Eliot Fisk Pictured (from left to right): Tony Arnold, Brett Dean (credit: Claudia Hansen), and Juho Pohjohnen (credit: Marco Borggreve)

Coolidge Auditorium

Get free tickets from Eventbrite
(tickets available 01/04/2017, beginning at 10 AM)

Orion String Quartet
Brett Dean, viola   |  Tony Arnold, soprano  |  Juho Pohjonen, piano

This concert highlights the music of Australian composer and violist Brett Dean, who premieres a new work for viola and piano—a Library co-commission—with Juho Pohjonen.  His arresting monodrama “And once I played Ophelia” features the remarkable soprano Tony Arnold as protagonist. Striking, imaginative effects in both vocal and string writing sketch a passionate figure the composer calls a “feistier” Ophelia. The manuscript for Schoenberg’s second quartet was given to the Library of Congress by Gertrude Clarke Whittall.

Presented in association with the Santa Fe Chamber Music Festival


Märchenbilder, op. 113


New work for viola and piano (World Premiere)
Commissioned by the Dina Koston and Roger Shapiro Fund for New Music in the Library of Congress and the Santa Fe Chamber Music Festival


String Quartet no. 2 (“And once I played Ophelia”), for soprano and string quartet


String Quartet no. 2 for soprano and string quartet in F-sharp minor, op. 10

6:30 PM - Whittall Pavilion (no tickets required)