Concerts from the Library of Congress, 2019-2020

Our phenomenal 2019-2020 season features the extraordinary music and legendary performers you expect to hear at the Nation’s Library. In our splendid concert hall, nestled in the stunning architectural environment of the Thomas Jefferson Building, you can encounter an impressive range of musical experiences, free of charge.

2019 EVENTS

Day Date Time Artist/Event (Location)
Wednesday September 11 10 am GET TICKETS for 2019 Concerts and Events from Eventbrite
Beginning at 10 am, you can get tickets for any 2019 event that is part of Concerts from the Library of Congress. PLEASE NOTE: All films, talks and preconcert events this year are general admission with no ticket required, unless otherwise indicated. You can still register for reminders and updates about those events, but seating will be first-come, first-served.
Wednesday September 18 12 pm HOMEGROWN CONCERT: 2019 NEA National Heritage Fellows Las Tesoros de San Antonio (Coolidge Auditorium)
Thursday September 19 7:30 pm HOMEGROWN CONCERT: Les Filles de Illighadad: Tuareg Music and Song from Niger(Coolidge Auditorium)
Saturday October 12 8 pm CONCERT: Chucho Valdés: Jazz Batá (Coolidge Auditorium)
Wednesday October 16 8 pm CONCERT: Fretwork with Iestyn Davies (Coolidge Auditorium)
[6:30 pm, Whittall Pavilion, Preconcert Conversation]
Friday October 18 8 pm CONCERT: Arod Quartet (Coolidge Auditorium)
[6:30 pm, Whittall Pavilion, Preconcert Conversation]
Wednesday October 23 7 pm LECTURE: “Diversity and the Birth of Broadway: Early Female Authors of the American Musical” with Ben West, musical theater artist, historian and founder of Unsung Musicals Co. (Montpelier Room)
Friday October 25 8 pm CONCERT: Tank & the Bangas (Coolidge Auditorium)
Monday October 28 8 pm CONCERT: “As Ever, Oscar: Letters and Lyrics of Oscar Hammerstein II” (Coolidge Auditorium)
[6:30 pm, Whittall Pavilion, Preconcert Lecture: “Inside the Envelope: Behind the Scenes with Oscar Hammerstein Correspondence” with Mark Horowitz, Music Division (and current Kluge Staff Fellow)]
Tuesday October 29 7 pm LECTURE: “Art Kane: Harlem 1958” with Benny Golson, saxophonist and composer; Jonathan Kane, musician and photographer; and Larry Appelbaum, Music Division (Montpelier Room)
Wednesdday October 30 8 pm CONCERT: Quicksilver - "Founders Day Concert" (Coolidge Auditorium)
[6:30 pm, Whittall Pavilion, Preconcert Conversation]
Saturday November 2 8 pm CONCERT: Midori, violin and Ieva Jokubaviciute, piano
[6:30 pm, Whittall Pavilion, Preconcert Conversation]
Thursday November 7 7 pm LECTURE: “Reminiscing in Tempo: Some Highlights from Nine Decades with Jazz”
Dan Morgenstern, Library of Congress Jazz Scholar
(Montpelier Room)
Tuesday November 12 7 pm AMS LECTURE: “Recovering the History of the U.S. Immigrant Musical Theater at the Library of Congress” with John Koegel, PhD, Professor of Musicology California State University, Fullerton (Montpelier Room)
Thursday November 14 7 pm CONCERT: A Cabaret Evening with Norm Lewis (Coolidge Auditorium)
Saturday November 16 2 pm LECTURE/CONCERT: “Chopin: the Raphael of the Piano" with Alan Walker, speaker and Valerie Tryon, piano (Coolidge Auditorium)
Wednesday
November 20 8 pm CONCERT: Irish Chamber Orchestra with Jörg Widmann, clarinet and conductor; Claron McFadden, soprano (Coolidge Auditorium)
Saturday November 23 8 pm CONCERT: Leila Josefowicz, violin and John Novacek, piano (Coolidge Auditorium)
[6:30 pm, Whittall Pavilion, Preconcert Conversation]
Thursday December 5 7 pm FILM: Twin Spirits (Pickford Theater)
Friday December 6 8 pm CONCERT: Clara Schumann at 200 with Anne-Marie McDermott, piano; Kerry McDermott, violin; Maureen McDermott, cello; Susanna Phillips, soprano (Coolidge Auditorium)
[6:30 pm, Whittall Pavilion, Preconcert Lecture: “An Introduction to the Music of Clara Schumann” with David Plylar, Music Division]
[Post-concert Conversation with the Artists On Stage]
Saturday December 7 11 am #DECLASSIFIED: “Clara Schumann in the Library’s Collection” with Cait Miller (Whittall Pavilion)
Wednesday December 11 10 am GET TICKETS for 2020 Concerts and Events from Eventbrite
Beginning at 10 am, you can get tickets for any 2020 event that is part of Concerts from the Library of Congress. PLEASE NOTE: All films, talks and preconcert events this year are general admission with no ticket required, unless otherwise indicated. You can still register for reminders and updates about those events, but seating will be first-come, first-served.
Wednesday December 18 8 pm CONCERT: Miró Quartet with Daniel Ching and William Fedkenheuer, violins; John Largess, viola; Joshua Gindele, cello; and Rita Sloan, piano (Coolidge Auditorium)
[6:30 pm, Whittall Pavilion, Preconcert Conversation]

2020 EVENTS

Day Date Time Artist/Event (Location)
Thursday January 23 7 pm FILM: A Band Called Death (Pickford Theater)
Thursday January 30 8 pm CONCERT: Dunedin Consort (Coolidge Auditorium)
[6:30 pm, Whittall Pavilion, Preconcert Conversation]
Friday January 31 8 pm CONCERT: Asko/Schonberg I (Coolidge Auditorium)
[6:30 pm, Whittall Pavilion, Preconcert Conversation]
Saturday February 1 8 pm CONCERT: Asko/Schonberg II (Coolidge Auditorium)
[6:30 pm, Whittall Pavilion, Preconcert Conversation]
Wednesday February 5 8 pm CONCERT: Skride Piano Concert (Coolidge Auditorium)
Thursday February 6 7 pm FILM: In the Heat of the Night (Pickford Theater)
Friday February 7 8 pm CONCERT: Phaeton Trio (Coolidge Auditorium)
Thursday February 13 8 pm FILM: Bonnie and Clyde (Pickford Theater)
Saturday February 15 12 pm FILM: Doctor Doolittle (Pickford Theater)
Saturday February 15 2 pm PANEL/DEMONSTRATION: “Perfection: The Laurent Crystal Flute, 1807-1848” (Whittall Pavilion)
Wednesday February 19 7 pm Lecture: “Diversity and the Birth of Broadway: Early Black Authors of the American Musical”with Ben West, musical theater artist, historian and founder of Unsung Musicals Co. (Montpelier Room)
Thursday February 20 7 pm FILM: Guess Who's Coming to Dinner (Pickford Theater)
Friday February 21 8 pm CONCERT: Miranda Cuckson & Friends (Coolidge Auditorium)
Saturday February 22 11 am #DECLASSIFIED: Alban Berg at the Library (Whittall Pavilion)
Wednesday February 26 7 pm LECTURE: “A Power Stronger than Itself: the AACM and American Experimental Music” with George Lewis, author (Montpelier Room)
Thursday February 27 7 pm FILM: The Graduate (Pickford Theater)
Friday February 28 8 pm CONCERT: Sphinx Virtuosi (Coolidge Auditorium)
[6:30 pm, Whittall Pavilion, Preconcert Conversation]
Saturday February 29 8 pm CONCERT: Concerto Köln (Coolidge Auditorium)
Saturday March 7 11 am #DECLASSIFIED: “Rare & Rediscovered: Unearthing 300 Years of Musical Treasures at the Library of Congress” with Susan Clermont and Paul Sommerfeld, Music Division (Whittall Pavilion)
Thursday March 12 7 pm PANEL: Bartók Ballet: a New Life Onstage for a Landmark Coolidge Commission (Coolidge Auditorium)
Saturday March 14 2 pm CONCERT: “Arabesque” Marouan Benabdallah (Coolidge Auditorium)
Tuesday March 17 8 pm CONCERT: Takács Quartet - Edward Dusinberre and Harumi Rhodes, violins Geraldine Walther, viola András Fejér, cello (Coolidge Auditorium)
Wednesday March 18 8 pm CONCERT: Tabea Zimmermann, viola and Javier Perianes, piano (Coolidge Auditorium)
Saturday March 28 11 am #DECLASSIFIED/CONCERT: “Manuscript Music for Men’s Chorus” with Washington Men’s Camerata, Frank Albinder, Music Director and James Wintle, Music Division
Tuesday March 31 7 pm LECTURE: “The Uncommon ‘Gift to be Simple:’ Japanese American Influence in Appalachian Spring with Marta Robertson, PhD, Professor of Music, Gettysburg College
Saturday April 4 8 pm CONCERT: Conrad Tao, piano and Caleb Teicher, dancer (Coolidge Auditorium)
Thursday April 9 7 pm FILM: Miles Davis: The Birth of the Cool (Pickford Theater)

Saturday April 11 8 pm CONCERT: Fly Higher: Charlie Parker @ 100 (Coolidge Auditorium)
Thursday April 16 7 pm FILM: The Ballad of Fred Hersch (Pickford Theater)
Friday April 17 8 pm CONCERT: Bang on a Can All-Stars (Coolidge Auditorium)
Thursday April 23 7 pm FILM: The Jazz Loft According to W. Eugene Smith (Pickford Theater)
Saturday April 25 11 am #DECLASSIFIED: “The Beethoven Complex: Finding Their Light in the Shadow of Beethoven, from A.P. Heinrich to Johannes Brahms” with David Plylar, Music Division
Friday May 1 9 pm LIBRARY LATE: Flux Quartet with Oliver Lake and Donal Fox, Program 1 (Coolidge Auditorium)
Saturday May 2 2 pm CONCERT: Flux Quartet with Donal Fox, Program 2 (Coolidge Auditorium)
[12:30 pm, Whittall Pavilion, Preconcert Conversation]
Friday May 8 8 pm CONCERT: International Contemporary Ensemble with Suzanne Farrin, ondes Martenot (Coolidge Auditorium)
[6:30 pm, Whittall Pavilion, Preconcert Conversation]
Friday May 15 8 pm CONCERT: Beethoven’s Hammerklavier Sonata: Two Visions (Coolidge Auditorium)
[6:30 pm, Whittall Pavilion, Preconcert Conversation]
Saturday May 16 11 am #DECLASSIFIED: “Fly Space 3: Attack of the Stacks” with Solomon HaileSelassie
Thursday May 28 8 pm CONCERT: Big Band Evening: Strayhorn Known and Unknown with Loren Schoenberg, conductor (Coolildge Auditorium) - Salute to Strayhorn
Friday May 29 7 pm FILM: Paris Blues (Pickford Theater) - Salute to Strayhorn
Saturday May 30 11 am FILM: Anatomy of a Murder (Pickford Theater) - Salute to Strayhorn
Saturday May 30 5 pm SYMPOSIUM: Billy Strayhorn (Whittall Pavilion) - Salute to Strayhorn
Saturday May 30 8 pm CONCERT: The Bill Charlap Trio with Jon Faddis featuring special guest Cécile McLorin Salvant (Coolildge Auditorium) - Salute to Strayhorn
Friday July 24 8 pm CONCERT: Freiburg Baroque Orchestra with Kristian Bezuidenhout, fortepiano and Isabelle Faust, violin (Coolidge Auditorium)
[6:30 pm, Whittall Pavilion, Preconcert Conversation]